Poisons Board


The Poisons Board established pursuant to the provisions under the Poisons Act 1952 and serves to advise the Minister of Health of the followings:


  • Classification of new chemicals as Poison
  • Reclassification of poison in the Poisons List
  • Removal of poison from the Poisons List
  • Amendment of the psychotropic substances list in the Third Schedule
  • Addition or deletion of article or preparation in the Second Schedule


The Poisons Board convenes twice a year, usually in the middle and the end of the year, to debate the above and other related matters.



The Poisons Board consists of:



YBhg. Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Dr. Noor Hisham bin Abdullah

Director General of Health

Ministry of Health Malaysia



  1. YBhg. Datin Dr. Faridah Aryani Binti Md Yusof 
    Senior Director of Pharmaceutical Service 
  2. Dr. Sharmilah a/p Kuppusami
    Department of Chemistry Malaysia
  3. Pn. Hafizah binti Mohd
    Department of Agriculture Malaysia
  4. Dr. Akma binti Ngah Hamid
    Department of Veterinary Services
  5. Dr. Ashok Zachariah Philip
    Malaysia Medical Association
  6. Prof. Dato' Dr. Wan Mohamad Bin Wan Bebakar   
    Malaysian Medical Council
  7. Pn. Noor Yang Azwar binti Kamarudin
    Malaysian International Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  8. Dr. Chua Siew Kiat
    The Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Malaysia
  9. En. Amirhamzah bin Karim

           Malay Chamber of Commerce Malaysia

  1. Dr. Prathaban Raju
    Malaysian Associated Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry
  2. En. Amrahi bin Buang
    Malaysian Pharmaceutical Association



Pn. Nor Aza binti Hassan
Senior Principal Assistant Director
Pharmacy Enforcement Division