Pharmacy Board

Establishment of the Pharmacy Board Malaysia

Pharmacy Board Malaysia is established in alligned with section 3, Registration of Pharmacists Act 1951:

  • the Director General of Health ex‑officio;
  • the Director of Pharmaceutical Services ex‑officio;
  • Eight (8) registered pharmacists in the public service, ap­pointed by the Minister;
  • Three (3) registered pharmacists from any higher educational institution offering  a course or             programme       in pharmacy, appointed by the Minister;
  • Two (2) registered pharmacists not in the public service, appointed by the Minister;  and
  • Three (3) registered pharmacists not in the public service, nominated by the association representing            pharmacists in private practice, approved and  appointed by the Minister

Composition of the Pharmacy Board Malaysia

  1. Y.Bhg.Datuk Dr. Noor Hisham bin Abdullah (PRESIDENT)
    Director General of Health Malaysia
  2. Y.Brs. Dr. Salmah Binti Bahri (REGISTRAR)
    Senior Director of Pharmaceutical Services
  3. Dr Ramli bin Zainal
    Director National Pharmaceutical Regulatory Agency
  4. Mr. Tan Ann Ling
    Director Pharmacy Enforcement Division
  5. Dr. Kamaruzaman bin Saleh
    Director Pharmacy Practice and Development Division
  6. Mr. Dali bin Ismail
    Deputy Health State Director (Pharmacy) Kedah
  7. Mr. Leong Weng Choy
    Deputy Health State Director (Pharmacy) Perak
  8. Mdm. Zubaidah Binti Che’ Embee

            Deputy Health State Director (Pharmacy) Pulau Pinang

  1. Y.Bhg. Dato’ Faridah Binti Md Yusof
    Head of Pharmacy Department, Hospital Canselor Tuanku Mukhriz,                                                               Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Medical Centre
  2. Y.Bhg. Brigadier Jeneral Dato’ Dr. A Halim bin Hj Basari
    Pharmacy Director, Malaysian Armed Forces Headquarters
  3. YBhg. Prof. Dato’ Dr. Abu Bakar bin Abdul Majeed
    Assistant Vice Chancellor, Medical and Dental Faculty, UiTM
  4. Prof. Emeritus Dr. P.T Thomas
    Executive Dean, School of Pharmacy, Taylor's University
  5. Prof. Madya Dr. Jamia Azdina binti Jamal
    Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia 
  6. Mdm. Lee Seng Dee
    Head of Pharmacy Services, Pantai Holdings Berhad
  7. Dr. Mukunda Kumar M.S. Nair
    Farmasi Millenium (Sri Sentosa) Sdn. Bhd.
  8. Mr. Amrahi bin Buang
    President, Malaysian Pharmaceutical Society (MPS)
  9. YBhg. Prof Datuk Dr. Allan Mathews
    Sabah Pharmaceutical Association
  10. Dr. Choe Tong Seng
    Executive Director, Malaysian Association of Pharmaceuticals Suppliers (MAPS)
  11. Tuan Haji Mohd Yunos bin Shaari (SECRETARY)


  1. Registration and deregistration of Pharmacists and Bodies Corporates.
  2. Accreditation and recognition of pharmacy degree programmes in Higher Learning Institutions.
  3. Approval of premises for provisional training.
  4. Coordinating and monitoring of minimum Continuous Professional Development (CPD) points for issuance of Annual Retention Certificate.
  5. Setting and conducting of Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination for purpose of pharmacist registration.
  6. Setting standard and monitoring the compliance of institutions to the Guidelines on Approval and Recognition of Pharmacy Degree Programme to ensure the quality of the graduates and also the institutuions offering pharmacy course.

The following committees are established to facilitate the Board to accomplish its functions viz :

  1. Jawatankuasa Teknikal Bersama 
  2. Jawatankuasa Teknikal Peperiksaan Kelayakan Untuk Mengamal Farmasi
  3. ​Jawatankuasa Teknikal Akreditasi Farmasi
  4. Jawatankuasa Teknikal Pengiktirafan dan Pendaftaran Ahli Farmasi
  5. ​Jawatankuasa Teknikal Inkuiri 
  6. Jawatankuasa Teknikal Kelayakan Masuk Minimum
  7. Jawatankuasa Latihan